VINNYTSIA

National Pirogov’s Estate Museum

Description

  • In the picturesque corner of Vinnytsia, near Vyshenka Lake, there is a museum complex dedicated to the life and activities of the prominent surgeon Nikolai Pirogov.
  • The opening of the museum was dedicated to the 100th anniversary of Pirogov's use of anesthesia on the battlefield, for the first time in the history of wars.
  • The main exposition occupies ten halls, it consistently, in chronological order, tells about milestones of life and activity of MI Pirogov.
  • A memorial stone stands in the operating room that has not survived to this day.

In a picturesque corner of Vinnytsia, near Vyshenka Lake, there is a museum complex dedicated to the life and work of the outstanding surgeon-doctor Nikolai Ivanovich Pirogov. Now it is one of the most popular tourist sites in the city. Here you can learn a lot of interesting things about a world-famous physician, enjoy a walk in a cozy park and purchase memorable souvenirs.

With his thoughts and actions Pirogov was ahead of his time by almost a century. His contribution to the development of medicine is not only significant—it is a revolutionary one! Nikolai Pirogov was the first in the world to use an immovable bandage for bone fractures; to make a triage of the injuries, according to the severity of their wounds, to anesthetize during surgeries on the battlefield, to create the first atlas of human topographic anatomy, to found the Institute of Sisters of Charity and to became the founder of the Red Cross Society in the Russian Empire.

Entire generations and countries bow before the power of his genius. It is not surprising that grateful descendants, in recognition of Pirogov’s invaluable heritage, decided to preserve the estate where the famous scientist, great surgeon, talented teacher, public figure, and man of extraordinary virtues lived and worked.
The museum complex includes:
- the house where N.I. Pirogov lived, the corresponding exposition is placed here;
- Museum-pharmacy with the interiors of the reception and operating room;
- a monument of garden art—the Memorial Park;
- the Necropolis Church with a glass sarcophagus in which the embalmed body of a doctor rests.

The opening of the museum was dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the use of ether anesthesia by Pirogov on the battlefield, for the first time in the history of wars. However, in the future, the museum continued to develop and improve, repeatedly replenished with the works of the scientist, documents and other rare materials and things.

The main exposition occupies ten halls, it sequentially, in chronological order, tells about the milestones of life and activity of N.I. Pirogov.

The pharmacy has recreated the interiors of the reception room and the operating room, which convey the atmosphere of Pirogov's time as much as possible: figures-copies of workers (a pharmacist, paramedic and the owner of the estate), medical books, old recipes, healing herbs, glass dishes with medicines, other equipment. Nearby planted medicinal plants, which once used an outstanding doctor. And around is a magnificent coniferous park, an apple orchard and a linden alley.

On the site of the operating room, which has not been preserved to this day, is a memorial stone.

In a picturesque corner of Vinnytsia, near Vyshenka Lake, there is a museum complex dedicated to the life and work of the outstanding surgeon-doctor Nikolai Ivanovich Pirogov. Now it is one of the most popular tourist sites in the city. Here you can learn a lot of interesting things about a world-famous physician, enjoy a walk in a cozy park and purchase memorable souvenirs.

With his thoughts and actions Pirogov was ahead of his time by almost a century. His contribution to the development of medicine is not only significant—it is a revolutionary one! Nikolai Pirogov was the first in the world to use an immovable bandage for bone fractures; to make a triage of the injuries, according to the severity of their wounds, to anesthetize during surgeries on the battlefield, to create the first atlas of human topographic anatomy, to found the Institute of Sisters of Charity and to became the founder of the Red Cross Society in the Russian Empire.

Entire generations and countries bow before the power of his genius. It is not surprising that grateful descendants, in recognition of Pirogov’s invaluable heritage, decided to preserve the estate where the famous scientist, great surgeon, talented teacher, public figure, and man of extraordinary virtues lived and worked.
The museum complex includes:
- the house where N.I. Pirogov lived, the corresponding exposition is placed here;
- Museum-pharmacy with the interiors of the reception and operating room;
- a monument of garden art—the Memorial Park;
- the Necropolis Church with a glass sarcophagus in which the embalmed body of a doctor rests.

The opening of the museum was dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the use of ether anesthesia by Pirogov on the battlefield, for the first time in the history of wars. However, in the future, the museum continued to develop and improve, repeatedly replenished with the works of the scientist, documents and other rare materials and things.

The main exposition occupies ten halls, it sequentially, in chronological order, tells about the milestones of life and activity of N.I. Pirogov.

The pharmacy has recreated the interiors of the reception room and the operating room, which convey the atmosphere of Pirogov's time as much as possible: figures-copies of workers (a pharmacist, paramedic and the owner of the estate), medical books, old recipes, healing herbs, glass dishes with medicines, other equipment. Nearby planted medicinal plants, which once used an outstanding doctor. And around is a magnificent coniferous park, an apple orchard and a linden alley.

On the site of the operating room, which has not been preserved to this day, is a memorial stone.

Moreinfo · National Pirogov’s Estate Museum | Vinnytsya - Moreinfo

How to get there?

HISTORY

  • In 1859 M. Pirogov purchased the Cherry estate at auction in Kyiv.
  • Nikolay Pirogov lived and worked here for 20 years (1861-1881).
  • On January 24, 1882, the surgeon's embalmed body was placed in a family tomb.
  • In 1936 Vinnytsia Regional Infectious Diseases Hospital was located in the estate.
  • The official opening of the museum complex took place only on September 9, 1947.

In 1859, N. Pirogov acquired the estate Cherry at the auction in Kiev. He built a house and a pharmacy in 1866. Nikolai Pirogov lived and worked here for 20 years (1961-1981). On January 24, 1882, the embalmed body of the surgeon was placed in a family tomb.

In 1885, according to the project of academician V. Sychugov, the construction of the necropolis church was completed, where to this day there is a sarcophagus with the body of an outstanding doctor.

After the death of Pirogov’s wife, Alexandra, the estate and crypt were abandoned. They suffered significant damage and robbery during the years of the revolution.
1936, the Vinnitsa Regional Infectious Diseases Hospital was located on the estate.

In the postwar years, the estate fell into decay. The question of its restoration and the creation of the museum was raised several times. But the official opening of the museum complex took place only on September 9, 1947.

In 1859, N. Pirogov acquired the estate Cherry at the auction in Kiev. He built a house and a pharmacy in 1866. Nikolai Pirogov lived and worked here for 20 years (1961-1981). On January 24, 1882, the embalmed body of the surgeon was placed in a family tomb.

In 1885, according to the project of academician V. Sychugov, the construction of the necropolis church was completed, where to this day there is a sarcophagus with the body of an outstanding doctor.

After the death of Pirogov’s wife, Alexandra, the estate and crypt were abandoned. They suffered significant damage and robbery during the years of the revolution.
1936, the Vinnitsa Regional Infectious Diseases Hospital was located on the estate.

In the postwar years, the estate fell into decay. The question of its restoration and the creation of the museum was raised several times. But the official opening of the museum complex took place only on September 9, 1947.

INTERESTING FACTS

  • The museum-pharmacy is not an imitation, because this building housed a real pharmacy, the first in Podillia. At one time, they sold drugs here, and also took patients and performed operations.
  • Given the significant role of the museum in the study and preservation of national history, including medicine, by the decree of the President of Ukraine in 1997, the museum-estate was given the status of a monument of national importance.
  • The estate is not just a tourist attraction: a picturesque corner attracts Vinnitsa residents as a cozy place for walking or a wonderful location for wedding photo shoots.

  • The museum-pharmacy is not an imitation, because this building housed a real pharmacy, the first in Podillia. At one time, they sold drugs here, and also took patients and performed operations.
  • Given the significant role of the museum in the study and preservation of national history, including medicine, by the decree of the President of Ukraine in 1997, the museum-estate was given the status of a monument of national importance.
  • The estate is not just a tourist attraction: a picturesque corner attracts Vinnitsa residents as a cozy place for walking or a wonderful location for wedding photo shoots.