VINNYTSIA

Holy Transfiguration Cathedral

Description

  • In the 1750s a stone catholic church and a monastery were built at the expense of Michał Andrzej Grocholski, county judge of Bratslav and philanthropist.

Its domes glistening in the sun and heading for the blue sky can be seen from a long way off.

Stylistically, the church does not correspond to the Orthodox architectural canons, because the building was originally Catholic and served the Dominicans, who competed for supremacy and importance with the Jesuit neighbors. The Dominicans appeared here in 1624, when by order of Bratslav Mayor Stefan Cherlenkovskyi had moved from the ruined lands of Tyvrivshchyna (Tyvrivskyi district in Vinnytsia region) to a provincial city of Vinnytsia. Later King Vladyslav IV approved land acquisition for their monastery and ordered the citizens of the city to pay tax on it. Apparently, the first monastery buildings were made of wood, as they were destroyed quite quickly and repeatedly.

Its domes glistening in the sun and heading for the blue sky can be seen from a long way off.

Stylistically, the church does not correspond to the Orthodox architectural canons, because the building was originally Catholic and served the Dominicans, who competed for supremacy and importance with the Jesuit neighbors. The Dominicans appeared here in 1624, when by order of Bratslav Mayor Stefan Cherlenkovskyi had moved from the ruined lands of Tyvrivshchyna (Tyvrivskyi district in Vinnytsia region) to a provincial city of Vinnytsia. Later King Vladyslav IV approved land acquisition for their monastery and ordered the citizens of the city to pay tax on it. Apparently, the first monastery buildings were made of wood, as they were destroyed quite quickly and repeatedly.

Moreinfo · ENG 11

How to get there?

And also nearby

HISTORY

  • In 1758 the Cathedral was consecrated and began to function for spiritual purposes.

In the 1750s a stone catholic church and a monastery were built at the expense of Michał Andrzej Grocholski, county judge of Bratslav and philanthropist. In 1758 the Cathedral was consecrated and began to function for spiritual purposes.

Paolo Antonio Domenico Fontana, a famous Italian designer, was the author of the project and architect of the Cathedral. He added to his architectural work the elements of Vilna Baroque, successfully combining local national traditions with the late Western European Baroque. In the basement of the Cathedral there was a family crypt (a burial vault) of the Grocholskis.

The Dominican and neighboring Jesuit monasteries became parts of a dual ensemble - the Mury complex, which had a joint defense system and played a significant role in the trade development of the area and protecting the city from enemies. After the neighboring monastery was liquidated in 1773, the Dominican church became parochial for the Catholic community of Vinnytsia.

In 1832 after a severe government persecution caused by the uprising of the Poles against the Russian Empire, the tsarist autocracy handed it over to the Orthodox.

In 1855 Protoiereus Porfyrii Voznesenskyi, the Cathedral Dean of that time, paid attention to the fact that many church members did not go to church in winter time. The reason was cold weather. The members of the clergy also suffered from cold weather. That is why they decided to build the so-called “warm church” which was arranged in the lower part of the Cathedral where there was the family crypt (a burial vault) of the Grocholskis. As previously agreed with the Catholic clergy, the burials of the founders were moved: a part was moved to another church, and the rest - outside the church. The lower church was sanctified in honor of St. Cosmas and Damian aimed at memorizing the previous cathedral.

In the 1750s a stone catholic church and a monastery were built at the expense of Michał Andrzej Grocholski, county judge of Bratslav and philanthropist. In 1758 the Cathedral was consecrated and began to function for spiritual purposes.

Paolo Antonio Domenico Fontana, a famous Italian designer, was the author of the project and architect of the Cathedral. He added to his architectural work the elements of Vilna Baroque, successfully combining local national traditions with the late Western European Baroque. In the basement of the Cathedral there was a family crypt (a burial vault) of the Grocholskis.

The Dominican and neighboring Jesuit monasteries became parts of a dual ensemble - the Mury complex, which had a joint defense system and played a significant role in the trade development of the area and protecting the city from enemies. After the neighboring monastery was liquidated in 1773, the Dominican church became parochial for the Catholic community of Vinnytsia.

In 1832 after a severe government persecution caused by the uprising of the Poles against the Russian Empire, the tsarist autocracy handed it over to the Orthodox.

In 1855 Protoiereus Porfyrii Voznesenskyi, the Cathedral Dean of that time, paid attention to the fact that many church members did not go to church in winter time. The reason was cold weather. The members of the clergy also suffered from cold weather. That is why they decided to build the so-called “warm church” which was arranged in the lower part of the Cathedral where there was the family crypt (a burial vault) of the Grocholskis. As previously agreed with the Catholic clergy, the burials of the founders were moved: a part was moved to another church, and the rest - outside the church. The lower church was sanctified in honor of St. Cosmas and Damian aimed at memorizing the previous cathedral.

INTERESTING FACTS

  • This complex is a defensive church architecture composed of Jesuit and Dominican monasteries, which is a unique phenomenon in the history of monastery construction of monasteries in Ukraine in the 18th century.
  • Mykhailo Kotsiubynsky, Vinnytsia citizen and well-known Ukrainian writer, was baptized here. He also got married in this Cathedral.
  • The thirty-meter bell tower of the Cathedral offers a picturesque view of the city center and the left-bank Vinnytsia. You can visit it during tours to the Cathedral.
  • This complex is a defensive church architecture composed of Jesuit and Dominican monasteries, which is a unique phenomenon in the history of monastery construction of monasteries in Ukraine in the 18th century.
  • Mykhailo Kotsiubynsky, Vinnytsia citizen and well-known Ukrainian writer, was baptized here. He also got married in this Cathedral.
  • The thirty-meter bell tower of the Cathedral offers a picturesque view of the city center and the left-bank Vinnytsia. You can visit it during tours to the Cathedral.