Kherson

Bernstein House

Description

  • The most popular photo shop in the past, now a popular establishment

According to the “Government Gazette” in 1897, there were about 90 photo shops in Kherson, and by the start of the Civil War of 1917, their number had increased to 200. In 1908, the photographic boom had not yet subsided and reached such a peak that the newspaper “South” called this phenomenon is the main feature of the city - the constant opening of new photo institutions.

The most famous of them was the photo studio of Viktor Bernstein, located in a two-story house on Suvorov Street. Now there is a jewelry store in the building.

The room was equipped with the most modern shooting equipment at that time, and the glass roof allowed natural light to do its job. From the street it was clear what kind of place it was - new photographs were displayed on the windows every time.

According to the “Government Gazette” in 1897, there were about 90 photo shops in Kherson, and by the start of the Civil War of 1917, their number had increased to 200. In 1908, the photographic boom had not yet subsided and reached such a peak that the newspaper “South” called this phenomenon is the main feature of the city - the constant opening of new photo institutions.

The most famous of them was the photo studio of Viktor Bernstein, located in a two-story house on Suvorov Street. Now there is a jewelry store in the building.

The room was equipped with the most modern shooting equipment at that time, and the glass roof allowed natural light to do its job. From the street it was clear what kind of place it was - new photographs were displayed on the windows every time.

How to get there?

And also nearby

HISTORY

  • In 1897, in Kherson, there were about 90 shop
  • Now there is a jewelry store in the building.

The room was equipped with the most modern shooting equipment at that time, and the glass roof allowed natural light to do its job. From the street it was clear what kind of place it was - new photographs were displayed on the windows every time. Bernstein offered a variety of formats: business format, small American, promenade, boudoir, salon.

They say that he pronounced these words with a special accent, "inherent only to him."

Time was turbulent then: power was constantly changing. Most of all, the Grigoryevites liked to be photographed, especially their chieftain. The photographer felt when new power came and put new photographs on the window. Only once he did not have time to hang up photographs of the Makhnovists, who then only came to the city, it almost did not "cost him his life."

Bernstein could not sustain such a life and left Kherson. But there was a man who was able to survive these times and continue the work - his student, Alexander Alpert, who later worked in newspapers and later became a high-level photojournalist.

But the story of the house itself as a photo studio, unfortunately, is over. He was replaced by a jewelry store, and today there is a cafe Rock Burger.

The room was equipped with the most modern shooting equipment at that time, and the glass roof allowed natural light to do its job. From the street it was clear what kind of place it was - new photographs were displayed on the windows every time. Bernstein offered a variety of formats: business format, small American, promenade, boudoir, salon.

They say that he pronounced these words with a special accent, "inherent only to him."

Time was turbulent then: power was constantly changing. Most of all, the Grigoryevites liked to be photographed, especially their chieftain. The photographer felt when new power came and put new photographs on the window. Only once he did not have time to hang up photographs of the Makhnovists, who then only came to the city, it almost did not "cost him his life."

Bernstein could not sustain such a life and left Kherson. But there was a man who was able to survive these times and continue the work - his student, Alexander Alpert, who later worked in newspapers and later became a high-level photojournalist.

But the story of the house itself as a photo studio, unfortunately, is over. He was replaced by a jewelry store, and today there is a cafe Rock Burger.

INTERESTING FACTS

  • The room was equipped with the most modern shooting equipment at that time.
  • The room was equipped with the most modern shooting equipment at that time.

Херсон

Дом Бернштейна

Описание

Самое популярное фотоателье в прошлом, сейчас популярное заведение

По данным "Правительственного вестника" в 1897 году в Херсоне насчитывалось около 90 фотоателье, а к началу Гражданской войны 1917 года, их количество увеличилось до 200. В 1908 году фотографический бум еще не утихал и достиг такого пика, что газета "Юг" " назвала это явление основной особенностью города - постоянное открытие новых фото-заведений.

Самым известным из них был фотосалон Виктора Бернштейна, располагался в двухэтажном доме на улице Суворова. Сейчас в здании находится ювелирный магазин.

Помещение было оборудовано самым современным на то время оборудованием для съемки, а стеклянная крыша позволял естественному освещению сделать свое дело. Еще с улицы было понятно, что это за место - на витринах каждый раз выставлялись новые фотографии.

По данным "Правительственного вестника" в 1897 году в Херсоне насчитывалось около 90 фотоателье, а к началу Гражданской войны 1917 года, их количество увеличилось до 200. В 1908 году фотографический бум еще не утихал и достиг такого пика, что газета "Юг" " назвала это явление основной особенностью города - постоянное открытие новых фото-заведений.

Самым известным из них был фотосалон Виктора Бернштейна, располагался в двухэтажном доме на улице Суворова. Сейчас в здании находится ювелирный магазин.

Помещение было оборудовано самым современным на то время оборудованием для съемки, а стеклянная крыша позволял естественному освещению сделать свое дело. Еще с улицы было понятно, что это за место - на витринах каждый раз выставлялись новые фотографии.

Как проехать?

А ТАКЖЕ НЕПОДАЛЁКУ НАХОДЯТСЯ

ИСТОРИЯ

  • В 1897 году в Херсоне насчитывалось около 90 фотоателье
  • Сейчас в здании находится ювелирный магазин.

Помещение было оборудовано самым современным на то время оборудованием для съемки, а стеклянная крыша позволял естественному освещению сделать свое дело. Еще с улицы было понятно, что это за место - на витринах каждый раз выставлялись новые фотографии. Бернштейн предлагал множество форматов: визитный формат, малый американский, променадный, будуарный, салонный.

Говорят, что он произносил эти слова с особым акцентом, "присущим только ему".

Время тогда было неспокойным: власть постоянно менялась. Больше всего любили фотографироваться "григорьевцы", особенно их атаман. Фотограф чувствовал, когда приходила новая власть и выставлял на витрину новые фотографии. Только однажды он не успел развесить фотографии махновцев, которые тогда только пришли в город, это почти не "стоило ему жизни".

Такой жизни Бернштейн не смог выдержать и оставил Херсон. Но нашелся человек, который смог пережить эти времена и продолжить дело - его ученик, Александр Альперт, который потом работал в газетах и впоследствии стал фотожурналистом высокого уровня.

Но история самого дома как фотоателье, к сожалению, закончилась. Его сменил ювелирный магазин, а сегодня здесь находится кафе Рок Бургер.

Помещение было оборудовано самым современным на то время оборудованием для съемки, а стеклянная крыша позволял естественному освещению сделать свое дело. Еще с улицы было понятно, что это за место - на витринах каждый раз выставлялись новые фотографии. Бернштейн предлагал множество форматов: визитный формат, малый американский, променадный, будуарный, салонный.

Говорят, что он произносил эти слова с особым акцентом, "присущим только ему".

Время тогда было неспокойным: власть постоянно менялась. Больше всего любили фотографироваться "григорьевцы", особенно их атаман. Фотограф чувствовал, когда приходила новая власть и выставлял на витрину новые фотографии. Только однажды он не успел развесить фотографии махновцев, которые тогда только пришли в город, это почти не "стоило ему жизни".

Такой жизни Бернштейн не смог выдержать и оставил Херсон. Но нашелся человек, который смог пережить эти времена и продолжить дело - его ученик, Александр Альперт, который потом работал в газетах и впоследствии стал фотожурналистом высокого уровня.

Но история самого дома как фотоателье, к сожалению, закончилась. Его сменил ювелирный магазин, а сегодня здесь находится кафе Рок Бургер.

ИНТЕРЕСНЫЕ ФАКТЫ

  • Помещение было оборудовано самым современным на то время оборудованием для съемки
  • Помещение было оборудовано самым современным на то время оборудованием для съемки